IVIS2023 Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist (DVI) Award

Nominations for DVI award now being accepted (through March 31, 2023) to Crystal Loving ([email protected]; Chair of Nominations Committee). Other members include Gary Entrican, Dirk Werling, and Alejandra Capozzo. Please feel free to contact any member to complete a full package.  

Please include “DVI Nomination Package” as the subject line in the email.

The nomination package must include: 

  • A cover letter from the nominee describing how they meet the award criteria (listed below). 
  • A statement indicating her/his willingness to attend the 13th IVIS to receive the Zoetis DVI award in person and deliver the Zoetis DVI lecture. Award funds help offset cost of travel. 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.  
  • No more than three letters in support of the nomination from peers/colleagues. 

Selection Criteria
The recipient of the “Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist Award” sponsored by Zoetis will be chosen by a selection committee from the international research community based on: 

  • Stature as an internationally recognized authority and leader in the field of Veterinary Immunology, evidenced by committee membership, panels and outreach activities that have influenced change by internationally promoting the field of veterinary immunology.   
  • Evidence of excellence and impact to the field. Candidates should provide a list of their publications, select their top five peer-reviewed papers published in international journals and provide a paragraph describing the impact of each of these five papers.   
  • Provide five exemplars of contributions to veterinary immunology education, student training and mentorship of early career researchers/postdoctoral fellows that have supported the development of future generations of veterinary immunologists.   

Previous recipients of the DVI Award:  

  • 12th IVIS 2019  Professor Paul Wood 
  • 11th IVIS 2016 Professor Serge Muyldermans 
  • 10th IVIS 2013  Professor Cynthia Baldwin 
  • 9th IVIS 2010    Professor Doug Antczak  
  • 8th IVIS 2007    Dr John Butler   
  • 7th IVIS 2004    Professor Wendy Brown   
  • 6th IVIS 2001    Dr Travis McGuire   
  • 5th IVIS 1998    Dr Alan Husband
  • 4th IVIS 1995    Dr Richard Binns